The Silver Jubilee Celebrations and Seventh Conference of World Tamil Cultural Movement was celebrated in a grand manner on August 26th, 27th and 28th, 1999 in Chennai. Prof. R. N. Veerappan chaired the Conference.
Mr. Nedumaran, who made the inaugural speech, proposed the following projects to unify all the Tamils living in various countries of the world.
1. A World Tamil Organisation Co-ordination Committee
2. A World Tamil Monetary Fund
3. A World Tamil Flag
4. A World Tamil Anthem
5. A World Tamil National Dress
All participants at the Conference were please and unianimously welcomed the proposals. A resolution was passed by the Conference to implement them.
A meeting of the representatives of various countries who had come to participate at the Conference was held on 02-09-1999 to discuss the implementation of the above proposals. In order to find out the views on these proposals from Tamils throughout the world, and to take the necessary steps for their implementation, a World Tamil Organisations Co-ordination Committee was establised.
Those elected were Pala. Nedumaran as Convenor and R. N. Veerappan (Malaysia), Allen Ananthan (France), Govindasamy, Kamatchi Sothinathan (South Africa), S. P. Panchavarnam, R. Marimuthu (Myanmar), and Ilampirai Rahman (India) as members.
A letter explaining the above and requesting suggestions, was sent to all the Tamil Organisations spread all over the world.
The letters received from the Tamil Organisations were carefully considered in a meeting held on 03-08-2001. At the end of the meeting the following sub-committees were formed.
World Tamil Bank Formation Committee
President : Dr. Deivanayagam
Members : Dr. Govindasamy
N. P. Ramasamy
World Tamil Anthem Committee
President : Kavingar Kasi. Ananthan
Members : Pulavar Iraikuruvanar
Kavingar Inqulab
Kavingar Arivumathi
World Tamil Flag Committee
President : Pulavar Ki. Tha. Pachaiyappan
Members : Dr. Thamizhappan
Oviyar Veera. Santhanam
World Tamil Dress Committee
President : Ilampirai Rahman
Members : Mrs. Damithalakshmi
Ira. Padmanaban
Irai. Porkodi
Tho. Paramasivam
Rules and Regulations Committee
President : Prof. Subha. Veerapandian
Members : Prof. Ramamoorthy

Optimized to view in 800x600 with 16 bit color or higher mode.
Best viewed with Internet Explorer
3.x or later &
Netscape Communicator 4.x or later

Download Tamil Font to view our pages.
- Copyright THENSEIDE 2002.